The Back 2 School Store encompasses everything NCJW/Essex stands for: active volunteers who get things done, giving back to the most vulnerable in our community and pulling off a massive project flawlessly.  The 2024 Back 2 School Store is set to once again deliver smiles, hugs, and much-needed gear to help empower children to learn.

More than 1,000 children leave the Back 2 School Store with a new outfit, a warm winter coat, hats and gloves, scarves, underwear, socks, personal care items, books and a backpack filled with school supplies.

THANK YOU to you and your team for all of your hard work and determination. The amount of work that it takes to create such a wonderful experience for these children and families does not go unnoticed. I do hope that you realize the great IMPACT that the B2SS initiative has on helping these children with their self-esteem, independence, confidence and letting them see firsthand the power of partnership and community.
Kendra Orta
Programs for Parents

Support the B2SS

The Back 2 School Store welcomes donations throughout the year from individuals, families and others to fund the items each child takes home to get ready for school.

The Back 2 School Store is our biggest volunteer event of the year with hundreds of people involved in shopping, logistics, and helping children at the Store, led by the B2SS Steering Committee.

After picking their jackets, two of my children refused to take them off! The smiles and the excitement were heartwarming and I can’t wait to work on this committee and do more for next year!!!
Without a doubt… one of the most rewarding experiences in my life.
Lori Kaufman


Get involved. Sign-ups for day-of volunteer opportunities will begin in late Spring 2024. Contact the NCJW/Essex Office at 973-740-0588 to learn more.

You can make a difference at the 2024 Back 2 School Store


Numerous sponsorship opportunities are available for the Back 2 School Store. Contact Alison Haight, Director of Development, for more information.

Meet the Back 2 School Store Steering Committee

Elizabeth Brandwein Cohen, Sherri Fendelman, Danielle Kurlander, 2024 Co-Chairs

Michelle Beck

Melissa Berger

Jordyn Blackburn

Barbara Brown

Jenn Dany

Deb Eckstein

Robin Feldman

Marisa Fishman

Dina Forster

 Lori Gelman

Stacey Gold

Tara Heyderman

Geri Ismail

Phyllis Jacobs

Sandy Katz

Rachel Khedouri

Abby Levinson

Rachel Meisel

Sydra Miller

Andrea Mintz

Debra Nevas

Bess Oransky

Nan Rosenfeld

Stacey Rudbart

Michelle Sachs

Lisa Santola

Judy Wais Tabak  

Helaine Wallach


Jennie Goldsmith Rothman


Andrea Mintz

Executive Vice President

Caitlin Higgins Joy

Executive Director